isn’t it funny

how time slows down when you are waiting for something, and goes by at super speed when you have passed that day/hour/moment………..I have found myself in an nostalgic mood these days. I could blame it on hormones. But its probably just life and its phases. Counting the time and the years, realising that there are 7 years between each of my three girls and that that by the time baby reaches the age of dd7, dd14 will be 21 Insha’allah. How frightening was that realisation!? And then of course human emotions being what they are panic sets in………..its funny that I don’t really think so much of the time I was younger, I don’t really have a sentimental attatchment to the years gone by. But I am feeling sentimental for this period of my life, of being a mother with young children, of being so important to them, of that special closeness between a mother and her young children. And i feel fear that it is slipping away…………….Maybe I need therapy, My name is Claire, I am a babyaholic!  Maybe its the thought of turning 40 next year insha’allah!

Whatever the reason for these feelings, it serves as a daunting reminder that we won’t be here forever. And that the next life is waiting, and each year seems to pass so much faster than the last. And of course that all that will be waiting for us then will be our deeds. And everything else will be forgotten and irrelevant to us and everyone else.

So with these thoughts, I am wanting to focus my own thoughts to increasing those good deeds and purifying intentions for the things we do everyday that can also count to those good deeds. And to focus on fullfilling the responsibilities that we will be questioned about. So my first stop in getting back to basics is to get back to my quran, to improve my arabic recitation, to start memorising again. Baby steps first an ayat a week and increase from there. And of course with ramadan fast approaching it is the perfect time masha’allah!

8 thoughts on “isn’t it funny

  1. Assalaamu Alaykum,

    I love this post! It is dauting to think of what lies ahead and how quickly we are getting there. I’m with you on the Qur’an memorisation and recitation. I need to strengthen my relationship with Allah and His Book. Can we help each other out with us. I have an idea: a weekly memorisation goal with a brief study of tafseer. Maybe I can post it on the blog and we can share tips etc. What do you think? We may be able to benefit others as well as ourselves in sha Allah.

    xxx

    • sounds good masha’allah! i am working on this weeks goal. I will try to post it today insha’allah!I am assuming we would have a seperate goal and encourage each other along??? anyone who follows my slow starting goal won’t learn so fast lol xxx

  2. Assalaamu alaikum,

    It is a funny and sentimental time subhan Allah. I’m not enjoying the feeling that my ‘nurturing’ years will come to a stop in a few short years – another babyaholic here! 😆

    Insha’Allah we can put the focus on our deen this coming Ramadan and improve ourselves. 🙂

  3. A’salaamu alaikum sister. As women we have to come to terms with the fact that we cannot have babies forever…but man it’s hard! If you love being a mother, love having children, raising them, taking care of them, it’s really hard to admit that it might be at an end.

    I’ll be 38 this year insha’Allah and I have children from 17 to 2 yr old masha’Allah. That’s what happens when you don’t wanna say “Uncle!” you have a baby at 36. lol Alhamdulillah.

    Jazakiallahu khair for the reminder; we always need to remember each second we are alive we are a second closer to our end and we need to prepare ourselves to meet Allah swt and give an accounting. May Allah have mercy on us all, ameen!

    Ma salaama.

  4. lovely post…guess what? I’m 39 and seriously thinking of having another baby inshallah…it must be true what they say about the biological clock and all the rest…can’t really explain it but my head says a big NO NO and my fitrah says GO ON …mad I know…may Allah reward you immensely for everything you do on HIS name , ameen

Leave a Reply

