It feels like

ages since I sat at the computer and wrote a proper post! I have had to lose my morning routine of coming and blogging because the house work was lagging behind and that is always bad, as I then lose my afternoons to it. I never really understood the house work until I moved here. Coming on holidays I could see it was harder, but you never really understand that relentless dust in the summer, the winds that blow it in, in the spring, the mud in the winter. Its not even something you can begin to rationalise, they way it clings to the walls. I mean who would dream of the days you lose washing walls in this place. Especially as the house is considerably larger then my terrace in London was….

Anyway I didn’t really intend for this to be about house work. But seen as though this blog is supposed to be about motherhood in Algeria, its highly relevant!!!

In an effort to spend more time being creative I have been trying to be more efficient with the chores. I am blessed that dd(almost)17, is here all the time to help out, so while i still do the bulk, she is definately taking the edge off things and saves me plenty of time masha’allah. So what have I been working on?

I made these shorts inspired by shorts floating around the sewing community. they are made with Yelow gingham that used to be curtains under my work tops in the old kitchen. Waste not want not!

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

 

They have these cute gathered pockets which are gathered at the top with elastic and attached before sewing the centre seams.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I don’t have any photos of my princess wearing them, but they fit great masha’allah 🙂 Happy mummy and an outraged dd10, who couldn’t believe they are above the knee!!!

I also made this dress for dd10

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I copied this, from a dress owned by a good friend. And i am also really pleased with the way it turned it, it has panels on teh bodice and elastic on the back of the waist, and also along the front neckline with lots of gathers and pleats, it was a little time consuming, but I came togethor nicely masha’allah. Dd10 likes it, but she much prefers this little number that I made also!

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

 

A strappy little summer top, made in a nice cotton/linen type fabric, found here in dz!!! She loves trousers, so anything to go on top of trousers is a winner for her! I also made her 3 pairs of 3/4 length trouser for summer, which I have no pictures of. But I have been pretty productive over the last week, mostly thanks to dh being away from early morning until evening so I haven’t had to worry about cooking him lunch and not using the sewing machine while he has his afternoon nap!

I have also made a few new blog discoveries, this one gives away FREE digital patterns, always good to know! And I will try to update my blog list again insha’allah.

So whats next? I’m currently working on summer p.j’s for my youngest 2. And eid is on my mind, Ramadan is just around the corner, and I have a few plans towards handmade outfits for all but my teens insha’allah. Of course this depends on my finding suitable fabrics!

 

6 thoughts on “It feels like

  1. Mashallah you are so talented – especially loving the purple dress it’s beautiful!
    I remember the relentless cleaning and dust being a bit of a shocker when we were in Rouiba – glad youre getting a bit of help! X

Leave a Reply

